Mayflower Compact

The Mayflower Compact


adopted November 11, 1620

(remember the King James Bible was completed in 1611 )

In the name of God, Amen.

We, whose names are underwritten, the Loyal Subjects of our dread Sovereigne Lord, King James, by the Grace of God, of Great Britaine, France, and Ireland, King, Defender of the Faith, &c.


Having undertaken for the Glory of God, and Advancement of the Christ-ian Faith,    and the Honour of our King and Country, a Voyage to plant the first colony in the Northerne Parts of Virginia; doe, by these Presents, solemnly and mutually

in the Presence of God and one of another,

 covenant and combine ourselves together into a civill Body Politick, for our better Ordering and Preservation,

and Furtherance of the Ends aforesaid; And by Virtue hereof do enact, constitute, and frame, such just and equall Laws, Ordinances, Acts, Constitutions, and Offices, from time to time, as shall be thought most meete and convenient for the Generall Good of the Colonie;


unto which we promise all due Submission and Obedience.


In Witness whereof we have hereunto subscribed our names at Cape Cod the eleventh of November, in the Raigne of our Sovereigne Lord, King James of England, France, and Ireland, the eighteenth, and of Scotland, the fiftie -fourth, Anno. Domini, 1620.



      Mr. John Carver          Mr. Stephen Hopkins

      Mr. William Bradford  Digery Priest

      Mr. Edward Winslow   Thomas Williams

      Mr. William Brewster   Gilbert Winslow

      Isaac Allerton               Edmund Margesson

      Miles Standish              Peter Brown

      John Alden                   Richard Bitteridge

      John Turner                  George Soule

      Francis Eaton               Edward Tilly

      James Chilton                John Tilly

      John Craxton                Francis Cooke

      John Billington              Thomas Rogers

      Joses Fletcher                Thomas Tinker

      John Goodman              John Ridgate

      Mr. Samuel Fuller          Edward Fuller

      Christopher Martin       Richard Clark

      Mr. William Mullins       Richard Gardiner

      Mr. William White         Mr. John Allerton

      Mr. Richard Warren       Thomas English

      John Howland                Edward Doten

      Edward Liester


click HERE to return to Homepage